RTBU Express
RTBU Express
Visit Tram and Bus Express Visit the Tram & Bus Express Website
Visit Loco Express Visit the Loco Express Website

Sydney Trains Next Round of Station “OPAL” Reviews

Aug 21, 2015Bulletins

Bulletin 45 –

TO: ALL Sydney Trains Stations Members

Members are advised that Sydney Trains Management held a meeting with the RTBU and provided details of the next round of Station Staff Reviews. This is a continuation of the impacts of OPAL and Sydney Trains New Customer Service Model.

This is in line with the new Sydney Trains mottos:

“Creating a new future for our station customer service staff.”

“More customer interactions, less transactions.”

At the meeting, Sydney Trains provided information and the actual review documents. The Sydney Trains presentation included references:

  • Standardising opening and closing station coverage times from 55 different times to just 4
  • Maintaining the current status of stations at 169 attended and 5 unattended
  • 87 stations will be subject to staff reviews
  • 27 stations will have no change
  • 53 stations will have changes to Master Rosters
  • 7 single staff stations increase part time to full time

87 Stations to be reviewed:

24 August 25 August 26 August 27 August 28 August
Mount Kuring-Gai Turramurra Lindfield Wahroonga Penrith
Mount Colah Gordon Artarmon Roseville Thornleigh
Berowra Wollstonecraft Macquarie University
31 August 1 September 2 September 3 September 4 September
Denistone West Ryde Emu Plains St Marys Auburn
Concord West Eastwood Werrington Mount Druitt Parramatta
North Strathfield Rooty Hill Doonside
7 September 8 September 9 September 10 September 15 September
Seven Hills Mulgrave Clarendon Dulwich Hill Campsie
Toongabbie Quakers Hill East Richmond Hurlstone Park Lakemba
Clyde Schofields Richmond Belmore
Marayong Windsor
16 September 17 September 18 September 21 September 22 September
Wiley Park Chester Hill Bexley North Holsworthy Fairfield
Punchbowl Sefton Riverwood Padstow Cabramatta
Yagoona Bankstown Revesby Narwee
23 September 24 September 25 September 28 September 29 September
Ingleburn Leppington Minto Engadine Caringbah
Macquarie Fields Merrylands Leumeah Loftus Miranda
Warwick Farm Macarthur Sutherland Kirrawee
30 September 1 October 6 October 7 October 8 October
Cronulla Jannali Wolli Creek Erskineville Bondi Junction
Mortdale Como Rockdale St Peters Edgecliff
Carlton Arncliffe
9 October 12 October 13 October 14 October
Town Hall Milsons Point Stanmore Homebush
Central Museum Lewisham Strathfield
Newtown Summer Hill

Sydney Trains Management have stated that although there will be some Voluntary Redundancies available and some employees will be displaced from their positions, they intend to ensure that those employees who wish to remain with Sydney Trains will be found positions or alternative work until they find a permanent position.

Members are advised that they should attend their station review and participate in the development of their stations responses to the Sydney Trains proposal.

The Staff Review Committee consists of Mark Thompson, Terry Johnson, John Bathis and Martin Davis along with the Sydney Trains Management Representatives. Each station should ensure that they be at their respective Station review and/or nominate Local Representatives.

The Station reviews are about your Station and this impact on Members so Members need to be part of the process.

Issued by: Authorised by:
Graham FozzardOrganiser Robert Hayden
Assistant Secretary Rail