RTBU Express
RTBU Express
Visit Tram and Bus Express Visit the Tram & Bus Express Website
Visit Loco Express Visit the Loco Express Website

Mount Druitt Station Staff: Win on Safety!

Sep 12, 2019Bulletins

Bulletin 46/19 –

To: Sydney Trains Station Staff

RTBU Members at Mount Druitt Station have had an important win regarding their safety at work in the Fair Work Commission. Together, members and delegates took part in a dispute with Sydney Trains which has been fought for over one year.

Since last year Sydney Trains management have been trying to turn the Mt Druitt Station booking office into a retail shop. The dispute was not about stopping the retail shop, but about Sydney Trains’ management expecting members to work in an environment that we believed to be unsafe.

For over a year, members have stuck together and told Sydney Trains management they would not accept working in an unsafe environment, especially at night.

Throughout the dispute, Sydney Trains continuously disregarded members concerns and tried to convince everyone that the dispute had to do with the planned retail shop itself.

Your delegates Andrew Bent, Terry Johnson and John Steck effectively painted a clear picture to the Commission of our members’ safety concerns.

Taking this on board, the Commission convinced Sydney Trains that it ought to reach out to the RTBU for an agreement on the issue.

At the Commission your delegates successfully reached an agreement which was signed off as an official Fair Work Commission resolution. This resolution (which is attached) not only improves our members’ safety but ultimately confirms their rights when working in an unsafe environment.

If members feel unsafe working in the open customer environment especially late at night when by themselves, members have the right to remove themselves from that unsafe environment as per the SAFER and THREAT model without being subjected to any form of adverse action.

If members feel unsafe and are required to remove themselves from an unsafe environment they are still required to perform duties that are safe to do so until the issue is resolved.

This outcome was only possible by members being united and sticking together, as always unity is our strength.

Again, congratulations to all union members who took part in this dispute, especially delegates Andrew Bent, Terry Johnson and John Steck who fronted the Commission. This is an achievement we all should be proud of!

Any questions, queries or concerns please contact or your local RTBU delegate or your organiser on (02) 9264 2511 or via email on thunter@rtbu-nsw.asn.au .

If management takes any action against you, or tell you differently to what is set out above, make sure you let us know!

If you are not an RTBU member, JOIN THE UNION TODAY! Together we are stronger!

To join, contact our membership services team on (02) 9264 2511 or email at nswho@rtbu-nsw.asn.au


Issued by: Authorised by:
Trent Hunter


David Babineau

Assistant Branch Secretary (Road)

Download PDF