RTBU Express
RTBU Express
Visit Tram and Bus Express Visit the Tram & Bus Express Website
Visit Loco Express Visit the Loco Express Website

Management’s Proposed Agreement – How it Stacks Up

May 30, 2018Bulletins

Bulletin: 35/2018

To: All ARTC Infrastructure Maintenance Members

This Thursday, 31st May 2018 voting will open on management’s proposed EA.                                    

When you go to vote you need to ask yourself, is this really the best ARTC can do and is it fair considering the company makes an average of $700 million a year? These earnings that have only been possible due to the work you have performed. You have made every cent for ARTC, yet they refuse to reward your efforts with a reasonable pay rise which includes back pay.

It is possible to stick together, fight and win a better outcome.

RTBU Infrastructure members at other companies have recently won 3.5% to 3.75% pay increases per year including back pay, increases to allowances, rostering improvements to allow for paid island days, changes to their travel allowance clause which provides a higher allowance for employees travelling more than 40 km to their worksite and an improved training clause which requires the company to now provide annual training plans with the goal of progressing their employees through the classification structure at a regular pace.

Are you happy to let ARTC pay less than your fair share and less than other Infrastructure workers performing the same job who are already paid more than ARTC workers?

This is what you need to think about when voting on ARTC’s offer from Thursday, 31st May 2018 until Monday, 4th June 2018. ARTC can do much better, they are choosing not to.

That’s why you need to take 2 steps to achieve a better offer;

  1. Vote NO on management’s proposed Agreement;
  2. Vote YES on your protected action ballot for the Australian Electoral Commission to say you will withdraw your labour to fight for a fair deal!

In Solidarity!

Issued by: Authorised by:
Luke Hayden


Alex Claassens

Branch Secretary