Australian Rail, Tram and Bus Industry Union

**New South Wales Branch** 

# ELECTION NOTICE - E2023/187

#### **Casual Vacancy and Insufficient Nominations Election**

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

Nominations are called for:

# **Office positions**

# **New South Wales Branch Offices**

## Branch Divisional Delegates to Branch Council from:

#### **Rail Operations Division**

• Southern District (1)

#### **Infrastructure Division**

- North Coast District (1)
- Southern District (1)

## **Locomotive Division**

Southern District\* (1)

#### Administrative, Supervisory, Technical and Professional Division

- Western & Southern Districts (1)
- STA Group (1)
- Metropolitan District\* (1)

## Branch Divisional Delegate to Branch Council – Affirmative Action (woman) from:

• Tram and Bus Division\* (1)

## **NSW Branch Divisional Offices**

#### **Locomotive Division**

Sub-Divisional Representatives on Branch Divisional Committee from:

- Sydney Trains/ETR Group 2\* (1)
- South West Group\* (1)

## Sub-Divisional Representatives (Depot Organisers) from:

- ETR/Sydney Train Group North Sydney (1)
- ETR/Sydney Train Group Central\* (1)
- ETR/Sydney Train Group Cronulla\* (1)
- Western Group PN Intermodal Broken Hill (1)
- Central Group Aurizon Coal Mayfield (Newcastle) (1)
- Central Group PN Coal Mudgee (1)
- South West Group PN Bulk Moss Vale\* (1)
- South West Group PN Bulk Cootamundra\* (1)

## Rail Operations Division

Sub-Divisional Representatives on Branch Divisional Committee from:

• Terminal Operators Sub-Division (1)

# Infrastructure Division

Sub-Divisional Representatives on Divisional Committee from:

• John Holland Pty Ltd (2)

#### Fleet Manufacture, Overhaul, Maintenance and Service Division

Sub-Divisional Representatives on Divisional Committee from:

- Northern District Group (1)
- Southern District Group (1)
- Metropolitan District Group (including one from Bus Engineering) (1)

#### Administrative, Supervisory, Technical and Professional Division

Sub-Divisional Representatives on Divisional Committee from:

- Southern District Group (1)
- Western District Group (1)
- Northern District Group (1)

#### Tram and Bus Division

Sub-Divisional Representatives on Divisional Committee from:

- Pyrmont (Sydney Light Rail) (1)
- North Sydney\* (1)
- Mona Vale\* (1)
- Willoughby\* (1)

# Non-office positions

#### **New South Wales Branch**

Sub-Divisional positions as follows:

#### Customer Services Attendants Sub-Division

Sub-Depot Representatives from:

- Olympic Park (1)
- Emu Plains (1)
- Moss Vale (1)
- Bomaderry (1)
- Scone/Dungog (1)

#### Terminal Operators Sub-Division

- Branch Sub-Division President (1)
- Branch Sub-Division Vice President (1)
- Branch Sub-Division Secretary (1)

#### Signallers Sub-Division

Sub-Depot Representatives from:

- Hornsby (1)
- Blue Mountains (Lithgow, Mt Victoria, Katoomba, Springwood) (1)
- Penrith/St Marys (1)
- Campbelltown (1)
- Granville/Clyde/Auburn (1)
- Strathfield\* (1)

#### On-board Passenger Train Sub-Division

• Branch Sub-Division Secretary – Dubbo (1)

Train Guards Sub-Division

• Branch Sub-Division Secretary – North Sydney\* (1)

# NOTE: All offices that are followed by an \* are identified as casual vacancy election positions.

**Nominations**, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the Organisation, may be made at any time from 9:00am Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) 19/02/2024.

A nomination form is available for electronic completion on the AEC Portal, www.aec.gov.au/ieb/. However, the nomination form must then be lodged in accordance with the Organisation's rules (see below).

Additional forms are available from the Returning Officer.

Prospective candidates and nominators should verify their financial status and any other qualifications required by the Organisation's rules prior to lodging nominations.

Nominations must reach the Returning Officer via the lodgement method(s) stipulated below **not later than** 5:00pm Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) **on** 11/03/2024.

#### How to lodge nominations, nominations must be lodged via the following method(s): By Portal: Australian Electoral Commission Portal, www.aec.gov.au/ieb/

By Fortal: Australian Electoral Commission Portal, www.aec.gov.au/leb/

**By Email:** A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures and attachments may be scanned and submitted as a pdf file to IEBnominations@aec.gov.au PLEASE NOTE

- 1. Emails to the AEC inbox that appear to be spam may be blocked. It is the responsibility of senders to ensure that their email reaches the AEC before the deadline for nominations.
- 2. In order to be able to be received by the AEC, emails (including attachments) should be no greater than 6 MB in size.
- 3. You may call 02 9375 6366 or 03 9285 7111 to enquire about the status of your nomination.
- 4. The subject line of the email should include the reference: ARTBIU –E202//187– Your Branch/Division your name.

#### Withdrawing Nominations

Nominations cannot be withdrawn after 5:00pm Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) on 21/03/2024.

#### **Candidate Articles**

Candidates may submit an article not exceeding 250 words. A passport style photo may also be submitted with the candidate article for publication. The article should be emailed to Ivy Kamensky, at <u>ikamensky@rtbu-nsw.asn.au</u>, not later than 5:00pm (AEDT) on 11/03/2024.

#### Voting Period

The postal ballot, if required, will open at 9:00am Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on 15/04/2024 and close at 5:00pm Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on 13/05/2024.

Attendance ballots, if required, will be held on **Thursday**, **2 May 2024**, between 7:00am and 4:30pm (AEST) for all offices which represent members within the Tram and Bus Division only. These will be advertised separately at each work centre.

Note: <u>For Tram and Bus Division only</u>: If any voter is unable to vote personally on the day fixed for the ballot, they can apply for a postal vote. Postal vote application must reach the office of the Returning Officer not later than 5pm (AEST) on 8 April 2024. Appliation forms are available from the Returning Officer via email at <u>IEBevents@aec.gov.au</u>

#### Scrutineers

A candidate in any election shall be entitled to appoint, by notice in writing to the Returning Officer, another person to act at his/her own expense as a scrutineer on his/her behalf.

A form is available from the Returning Officer for the purposes of appointing Scrutineers.

#### **Other Information**

Changed Address? Advise the Organisation now.

Please Note: A copy of the AEC's election report can be obtained from the Organisation or from the Returning Officer after the completion of the election.

Ishtiaq Ahmed Returning Officer Telephone: 03 9285 7111 Email: IEBevents@aec.gov.au 25/01/2024

